Kosher for Passover Coca-Cola, Pepsi, and Mountian Dew

During Passover, the Coca-Cola and Pepsi bottling companies release a Kosher version of their soft drinks made with sucrose (aka sugar) instead of corn syrup. The yellow caps signify that the soda is Kosher and suitable for consumption during Passover.

If you’re a pre-1990s person like me, I’m sure you’ll remember most, if not all, soft drinks had sugar instead of corn syrup. Supposedly, they made the change due to the rising cost of sugar.

Kosher Coke for Passover
Kosher for Passover Coke

There has been a soda resurgence over the last decade. Coke and Pepsi with sugar cane are imported from Mexico. In Miami, most supermarkets now carry them, whereas previously, they were only available at ethnic mom-and-pop restaurants.

Retro Pepsi + Mountain Dew Original Throwback
Retro Pepsi and Mountain Dew Original Throwback ad from 2009

Pepsi has gone one step further by releasing Pepsi Throwback (now known as Pepsi Real Sugar) and Mountain Dew Throwback, both made with sugar. Both retro Pepsi and Mountain Dew drinks are now in my regular soda-drinking rotation.

During the ’80s, I was a Pepsi-holic, but at some point, I converted to Coke. Let’s see what happens next in this chaotic return to sugar cola world.

Leave a Comment